Accessibility

Computers have become an indispensable tool for handling everyday tasks in our living and working environments. But blind and partially sighted users are currently at a major disadvantage when it comes to independently reading and interpreting digital computer information, especially if it includes graphic and structured information in addition to simple text. Although it is possible to connect a braille display ‒ which reproduces the contents of the screen line by line in braille ‒ to the computer, the problem remains that, for example, a typical website with many graphical elements or an Excel spreadsheet can be only incompletely rendered by a braille display. Moreover, visually impaired users will struggle to gain a full overview of a file or website; this, however, is an immediate requirement of performing modern, PC-supported and complex tasks in education, training and the workplace.

Graphics-enabled display for blind computer users

Graphics-enabled display for blind users

Through its braille tablet, the HyperBraille project is for the first time creating the possibility that blind and partially sighted users could gain far more extensive access than previously to training and further education opportunities, and even enter entirely new fields of employment.

The tablet display is a kind of graphics-enabled laptop for blind and partially sighted users. The software required to control the tablet display is also being developed as part of the project, which focuses mainly on optimising the use of all standard Office and Internet applications commonly used in the world of work. Education and training for blind children and youths is also expected to benefit from HyperBraille in the future.

The touch-sensitive pin-matrix display drastically increases the amount of information perceivable to blind computer users through both hands, and enables them to experience spatial structures and graphic symbols as additional information. Ideally, objects such as text blocks, tables, user interfaces, menus and other elements of the Windows user interface can be fully mapped to the pin-matrix display. Moreover, geometric drawings, floor plans, diagrams and much more can be made available to visually impaired students in lessons. Blueprints, electric circuit diagrams or the Unified Modeling Language used for software development could open up new fields of employment to blind and partially sighted people.

The braille tablet display – the technology

The Braille pin-matrix display consists of 7200 pins (60 rows with 120 pins each). Its surface is also equipped with sensors. The core of the pin matrix is a module that integrates 10 pins, spaced at intervals of 2.5 mm, into a plastic module. Vertically mounted piezo benders raise the pins above the plate by 0.7 mm. These modules can be lined up both horizontally and vertically, compactly and in any way required.

One module of the graphics-enabled display with 2 times 5 dots and the touchsensitive surface

An initial version, based on the pin matrix designed by Metec AG in 1985, was developed by Friedrich Lüthi (Metec AG) under the name of ‘Tawis’. The following film demonstrates the use of the old, electro-magnetically controlled pin matrix:

It is intended that by the end of the project in 2010 the modules will have been gradually optimised to make the pin matrix portable by, among other things, reducing its height.

Barrierefreier Zugang

Computer sind für unser Lebens- und Arbeitsumfeld zu einem unverzichtbaren Instrument zur Bewältigung der täglichen Aufgaben geworden. Blinde und Sehbehinderte sind derzeit jedoch stark benachteiligt, wenn es darum geht, selbständig digitale Computer-Informationen lesen und interpretieren zu können, besonders, wenn es sich neben reiner Textausgabe um grafische und strukturierte Informationserfassung handelt. Zwar lässt sich eine sogenannte Braillezeile an den Computer anschließen. Diese gibt allerdings Textbestandteile aus dem Bildschirminhalt nur einzeilig und nacheinander in Blindenschrift wieder. Es bleibt aber das Problem, dass zum Beispiel eine typische Webseite mit vielen grafischen Elementen oder auch Excel-Tabellen nur unvollständig in der Braillezeile wiedergegeben werden können. Zudem können Blinde den Gesamtüberblick einer Datei oder Webseite nur schwer herstellen. Das sind jedoch unmittelbare Voraussetzungen, um in Ausbildung und Beruf moderne, PC-gestützte und anspruchsvolle Arbeiten ausüben zu können.

Ein Nutzer bedient die Stiftplatte

Grafikfähiges Display für Blinde

Das Projekt HyperBraille schafft mit dem Braille-Flächendisplay nun erstmals die Voraussetzung, dass Blinde und Sehbehinderte viel umfassender als bisher Zugang zu Aus- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten und sogar Zugang zu ganz neuen Berufsbildern erhalten.

Softwareentwicklung optimiert Nutzung von Office-Anwendungen für Blinde

Das Flächendisplay ist eine Art grafikfähiger Laptop für Blinde und Sehbehinderte. Neben der Hardware wird im Projekt Hyperbraille auch die zur Ansteuerung des Flächendisplays nötige Software entwickelt. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die optimierte Nutzung der gängigen Office- und Internet-Anwendungen, die in der Arbeitswelt eingesetzt werden. Auch die Ausbildung von blinden Kindern und Jugendlichen soll künftig von HyperBraille profitieren.

Mit der berührempfindlichen Stiftplatte wird die Menge der für blinde Computernutzer nun beidhändig wahrnehmbaren Information drastisch vergrößert. Räumliche Strukturen und grafische Symbole werden als zusätzliche Informationen erfahrbar. Im Idealfall können Objekte wie Textabsätze, Tabellen, Benutzeroberfläche, Menüs und andere Elemente der Windows-Benutzeroberfläche vollständig auf der Stiftplatte abgebildet werden. Weiterhin können auch geometrische Zeichnungen, Raumskizzen, Diagramme u.v.m. blinden Schülern im Unterricht zugänglich gemacht werden. Technische Zeichnungen, elektrische Schaltpläne oder auch die Unified Modeling Language, die zur Softwareentwicklung eingesetzt wird, könnten blinden Menschen den Zugang zu neuen Berufsbildern ermöglichen.

Das Braille-Flächendisplay – die Technik

Das Braille-Flächendisplay besteht aus 7200 Stiften (60 Zeilen mit je 120 Stiften). Die Oberfläche ist außerdem mit Sensoren ausgestattet. Kernstück der Stiftplatte ist ein Modul, das 10 Stifte mit je 2,5 mm Abstand in einem Kunststoffmodul integriert. Die Stifte werden durch vertikal montierte Piezobieger aus der Platte 0,7mm herausgeschoben. Derartige Module können kompakt und beliebig in zwei Dimensionen aneinander gereiht werden.

Einzelnes Modul der Stifplatte mit 2 mal 5 Punkten und berührempfindlicher Oberfläche

Eine erste Stufe auf Basis der Stiftplatte der Metec-AG aus dem Jahre 1985 hat Herr Friedrich Lüthi (Metec AG) unter dem Namen ‚Tawis‘ entwickelt. Folgender Film demonstriert den Einsatz der alten elektromagnetisch gesteuerten Stiftplatte:

Bis zum Projektende 2010 sollen die Module Schritt für Schritt so optimiert werden, dass u.a. durch eine verringerte Bauhöhe die Stiftplatte mobil wird.